Evaluation – News Technical Fault

19 Mar

This short clip is taken from the 30 minute news bulletin that was aired between 5-5:30pm on Thursday the 6th of March. This news bulletin was the second and last news bulletin of the broadcast day and was an extended version of the 1pm news headlines bulletin. I was delegated the role of reading the main news stories whilst Will was presenting the sports. As referenced in my wordpress blog about my news reading skills, I generally felt that my presenting was to a very good standard throughout but what this clip demonstrates in particular is how I was able to act upon my initiative when something went wrong. During the live news read, a clip was being played on the system relating to one of the news stories but half way through it stopped working and so as a presenter, I realised that I needed to do something instead of having dead air. The technical fault made me react quickly in putting my mic back up and apologizing straight away for the problem and then linking back to the person who was reporting on the clip. I then swiftly moved on to introduce Will with the sports. I feel like this demonstrates my ability to deal with problems as they happen and I dealt with it in a professional and subtle manner. Strangely, I seem to have dealt with a technical fault better in comparison to actual professionals in the industry. On the 2nd of December, 2011 (see link below) on BBC Radio Scotland’s 7:50am news slot, a technical fault arose during their broadcast and the response of the person in charge was very unprofessional. They are heard swearing live on the air and do not deal with the situation in a timely fashion. My response to the situation is something that I can look back on and be proud of because it reflects well on me as a fast thinking and sensible presenter.

Please click below for the clip:

 

– BBC Radio Scotland Mistake –

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2069157/BBC-apologies-Radio-Scotland-staff-turn-air-blue-glitch.html

Leave a Reply

